May 14 Special Legislative Update

Shenker Russo and Clark LLP Legislative Update

During today’s daily Press Conference, the Governor announced that five regions have now met the requirements to begin Phase One of the re-opening process this Saturday, May 16th. The five regions are the North Country, the Finger Lakes, the Mohawk Valley, the Southern Tier, and Central New York. Businesses that can re-open in Phase One include:

  • Construction
  • Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing & Hunting
  • Retail – curbside and in-store pickup service only
  • Manufacturing
  • Wholesale Trade

You can find a list of which specific businesses fall into the above Phase One categories and the specific guidelines for each here:

Also, attached to this email is the State’s NY Forward Business Re-Opening Safety Plan Template. The State’s re-opening plan requires that, prior to re-opening, every business must develop a written Safety Plan outlining how it plans to protect its employees from COVID-19 and prevent the spread of the virus. Businesses may fill out the attached template or develop their own written Safety Plan. Businesses do not need to submit their plan to the State for approval. However, every business is required to retain a copy of their Safety Plan on the premises and make it available to the New York State Department of Health or local health or safety authorities in the event that the business is inspected to determine if they are in compliance with the State’s re-opening guidelines.

If you have any questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact us directly.