New York State Re-opening Process

Yesterday, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced updated COVID-19 micro-cluster focus zones in New York State. Based on data metrics, the existing yellow zones in Broome and Orange Counties will be removed, and Brooklyn’s orange zone will transition to a yellow zone. Part of Erie County’s yellow zone will transition to an orange warning zone, and part of Niagara County adjacent to Erie will become a yellow zone. Changes to zones go into effect Friday for business restrictions and Monday for school closures. Below is a link to the Governor’s website with the latest COVID-19 micro-cluster zones and overall numbers:

Today, New York City’s entire public-school system was shut down again. Students are going back to remote learning. The shutdown was prompted by the city’s reaching a 3 percent test positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average, the most conservative threshold of any big school district in the country.

The Governor announced last week that gyms, bars, restaurants, and any State Liquor Authority-licensed establishments statewide are now required to close in-person service from 10 P.M. to 5 A.M. daily. Restaurants will still be allowed to provide curbside pickup and delivery. However, it is limited to food-only. To-go alcohol will not be permitted. Lastly, the Governor also announced that indoor and outdoor gatherings at private residences are limited to 10 people. The Governor is concerned that the State will see a spike in Coronavirus cases as a result of the Thanksgiving holiday.