New York State Re-Opening Process

All ten regions of the State are now in Phase Four of the re-opening process. However, Phase Four in New York City is different than every other region, in that there is no additional indoor activity allowed in the city. The following industries have been given the greenlight to open in the other nine regions in the State (compliance guidelines are provided with each):

Governor Cuomo also announced that schools will be allowed to re-open in the fall only if the region is in Phase Four if the region’s daily infection rate remains below 5% using a 14-day average. However, if the region’s infection rate rises above 9% using a 7-day average, schools in that region will be required to close. The Department of Health also released Interim Guidance for pre-K to grade 12, which schools can use when developing their re-opening plans, which must be submitted to the State by July 31. Those guidelines can be found here:

In late June, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut issued a joint Travel Advisory, which requires a mandatory two-week quarantine for any non-essential workers traveling from state with high COVID-19 infection rates. Each state will be in charge of enforcing the measure in each of their states. In New York, a travel enforcement operation, in coordination with airlines, was implemented on July 14th. The operation’s rules require that all individuals flying into New York’s airports from states with high COVID-19 rates must fill out forms disclosing their travel plans. If they refuse to fill out the form, they will be subject to a $2,000 fine and may receive a summons to attend a hearing where they could be ordered to complete a mandatory quarantine. The states currently on the Travel Advisory, which is updated every Tuesday, include:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin